Penalties for DUI Offenses in Georgia
Protecting Yourself Against a Conviction with Our Paulding County Criminal Defense Lawyer
Are you facing charges for DUI? Unsure of what penalties you may be dealing with? Let our compassionate and zealous legal team at Henrickson & Sereebutra inform you of the potential consequences and help equip you with proper defense. With more than 75 years of combined experience under our belts, e know how to effectively handle these types of cases.
Our Paulding County DUI lawyers at our firm can review your case today and help you determine the penalties you are facing. From there, we can assist you with crafting a strategic and effective defense.
What Type of Penalties Am I Facing for DUI?
Each state has different penalties for drunk driving or impaired driving charges. In Georgia, the laws are very strict, especially for repeat offenders. No matter what type of DUI charge you are facing, it is crucial that you take fast legal action to protect your rights and driving privileges.
For any driver over the age of 21, .08% is all it takes to get charged with DUI. A commercial driver faces an even stricter BAC of .04%, while underage drivers cannot show more than .02%.
The penalties associated with DUI include:
- First offense: Between 24 hours and a year in jail, up to $1,000 in fines, and a license suspension for up to a year
- Second offense: Between 3 days and a year of jail time, up to $1,000 in fines, an 18 month license suspension, and a mandatory ignition interlock device if ordered by court
- Third offense: Between 15 days and a year in jail, up to $5,000 in fines, a license suspension of 5 year, and a mandatory IID installation
- Fourth offense: Between 1 and 5 years in jail, up to $5,000 in fines, an indefinite license suspension, and mandatory IID installation.
How Does a DUI Affect Commercial Drivers?
Once a driver with a CDL is arrested, their license could be forfeited for a certain amount of time, potentially for life. This could be devastating for any driver as they typically rely on driving to earn a living and to support themselves.
Your first DUI will likely result in losing your CDL for one year; on top of this, you could be forced to perform 75 hours of community service and be fined upwards of $1,000. Further DUI arrests will only result in worse penalties, including jail time, especially if your blood alcohol is above 0.08%.
On top of these penalties, if you chose to refuse to submit to a test of your blood, breath, or urine during your arrest, the Department of Driver Services mandates that you be barred from driving a commercial vehicle for a year. Your refusal can also be used against you by the prosecution as potential evidence of your guilt since a police officer can arrest you for DUI even if they did not check your blood alcohol level.
Secure Dedicated Representation from a DUI Defense Team
Each case is different and our skilled DUI attorneys in Paulding County may be able to negotiate with the prosecution in certain cases, obtaining a much more favorable outcome or ruling.
75+ Years of combined legal experienceRead More About The Firm
Put Former Prosecutors In Your CornerLearn The Benefits of Hiring Us
Watch Our Firm's "As Seen On Tv Videos"See Aaron Henrickson in Action
Take The First Steps to Protect Your FutureSchedule a Free Evaluation
I feel confident there is no other lawyer in the state of GA I would rather have representing my son than Aaron.- Annita
Theo Sereebutra was recommended to me by a friend and after meeting him and his staff, we were convinced that Theo was our guy.- Cecil
Aaron and the Firm, including the front desk assistants have gone over and beyond for my case and another one.- Former Client
Throughout the year Mr. Henrickson provided exceptional concern in my case, returned my calls within a timely manner, and most importantly showed support in any decisions I made pertaining to my case and options.- Morgan