First Time DUI Attorney in Paulding County
Minimizing the Damage of Your DUI Arrest
If you have been arrested for driving under the influence for the first time, you may not understand why you were arrested. Also, at this point, you may not understand the full consequences of the charges against you. Our Paulding County DUI lawyers at Henrickson & Sereebutra have handled thousands of cases and have helped clients confront DUI charges of all kinds.
Contact our firm immediately and minimize the damage of a DUI conviction!
Preventing Automatic License Suspension
Did you refuse to submit to a breath test during the arrest? According to the law of implied consent, drivers who refuse a chemical blood alcohol concentration (BAC) test may have their license automatically suspended by the police officer. Your driver's license could also be suspended immediately after being arrested, or as part of a DUI conviction punishment. In any case, if your license was suspended, you need to take action immediately!
You only have 30 days after your arrest to request an appeal hearing with the Georgia Department of Driver Services. If you do not request it in time, your license will be suspended for the full duration—6 months to more than 1 year.
Minimizing the Penalties of a DUI
Georgia drivers may be arrested for DUI with a BAC level in the following categories:
- .08% or higher for drivers over the age of 21
- .04% or higher for commercial motor vehicle drivers
- .02% or higher for drivers under the age of 21
Remember that an arrest is not the same as a conviction. The police officer may believe you were operating a vehicle while intoxicated, but the evidence will have to stand in a court of law. With a strong defense from our skilled criminal lawyers, you may be able to challenge the evidence against you—including chemical test evidence—and have the charges reduced or dismissed entirely. Law enforcement and court officials take DUI law very seriously, so it is vital that you retain dedicated legal protection for your trial and license suspension hearing.
What is The Punishment For First-Time DUI?
- Up to $1,000 in fines
- Up to 1 year in jail or prison
- License suspension
- Restricted driving privileges
- 40 hours of community service
- $210 fee to reinstate driver's license
- DUI Course/Risk Reduction Program
- Alcohol or drug education program
Your Unique Situation Deserves Personalized Defense
There is no cure-all strategy that can solve every case. Your DUI case is unique—the circumstances of your arrest and the evidence that may be brought against you in court call for a personalized approach. Our Paulding County DUI lawyers can work tirelessly to investigate the incident and develop a defense that challenges weak evidence. This can present a vital edge that many individuals accused of a serious crime can benefit from having in their corner.
Henrickson & Sereebutra's legal team has more than 75 years of collective experience in DUI defense. As former prosecutors, we have working knowledge of the law that allows them to anticipate the charges that are brought against our clients, and can use that knowledge to strengthen our clients' defenses.
50+ Years of Criminal Defense Experience
Read More About the FirmFirm Overview
Put Former Prosecutors in Your Corner
Learn The Benefits of Hiring UsWhy Hire Us
Watch Our Firm's As Seen On TV Videos
See Aaron Henrickson in ActionWatch Videos
Take the First Steps to Protect Your Future
Schedule a Free EvaluationContact Us
I will forever be in Mr. Henrickson's debt.- Annita
Very friendly & professional.- Cecil
Aaron brought his knowledge to the courtroom and was worth every dime, plus more.- Former Client
Wonderful experience!- Morgan
I am very pleased with Theo's help and he is highly recommended.- Former Client
Not Guilty after Jury Trial Armed Robbery, Aggravated Assault
Not Guilty DUI Drugs
Charges dismissed Trafficking in Methamphetamine
Charges dismissed Possession of Methamphetamine
Probation Armed Robbery, Burglary
Charges Dismissed Possession of Marijuana with intent to distribute
No Charges Filed Rape
Charges Dismissed DUI Alcohol
Charges Dismissed Probation violation based on Manufacturing Marijuana
Not Guilty Burglary, Criminal damage to property (Juvenile Court)